Conexión San Ángelo / Tom Nurre, contributor

SAN ANGELO - Angelo State University’s chapter of the Alpha Chi national honor society inducted 48 new members during a special initiation ceremony on Thursday, March 8, in the Houston Harte University Center.

Alpha Chi is open to students majoring in any academic discipline and has over 300 chapters nationwide with more than 400,000 members. To be eligible, students must rank in the top 10 percent of seniors at their college or university, or in the top 7.5 percent of juniors. Alfredo Bonilla Aguilar of Veracruz, Mexico, has been selected as ASU’s chapter representative to compete for several national Alpha Chi scholarships. ASU is in Alpha Chi Region I, and Dr. Karl Havlak, professor of mathematics, is the head faculty advisor for the ASU chapter. 

ASU’s spring 2018 inductees by hometown and major are:

San Angelo: Laura Acevedo, accounting; Sara Baxter, music; Taylor Bickford, kinesiology; Taylor Boyce, biology; Charles Branaman, intelligence, security studies and analysis; Alicia Dudley, intelligence, security studies and analysis; Arturo Flores, accounting; Bailey Harvey, mathematics; Hannah Hoffmaster, nursing; Luke Jordan, biology; Anna Ledesma, social work; Cody McCallum, political science; Amariah Pinchback, psychology; Kaylee Pruitt, health science professions; Britnee Raley, mass media; Amanda Ramage, criminal justice; and Brianna Torres, kinesiology.

Abilene: Madasen Briggs, psychology; Joseph Gorman, animal science; and Emily Maddox, management.

Andrews: Taylor Bailey, management.

Arlington: Danielle Hanna, nursing.

Austin: Brianna Ray, communication.

Ballinger: Justin Carson, management; and Alyssa Flanagan, food animal science and marketing.

Big Spring: Rikee Munsell, psychology.

Brownwood: Chevy Robertson, physics.

Bushkill, Pa.: Jaime Hyatt, health science professions.

Canyon Lake: Teruko Hendricks, criminal justice.

Cypress: Sarah Whetstine, health science professions.

De Leon: Baxter Krug, chemistry.

Eagle Pass: Cynthia Crabtree, psychology.

Fate: Bailey Wallace, kinesiology.

Flower Mound: Megan Gordon, animal science.

Fort Worth: Micah Healey, studio art.

Greenville, Pa.: Mackenzie Thompson, management.

Harker Heights: Jacob Stockland, kinesiology.

Haskell: Hannah Foster, teacher education.

Killeen: Deante Covington, intelligence, security studies and analysis.

Manlius, N.Y.: Sonja Hale, criminal justice.

McKinney: Jordyn Keiser, teacher education.

Mereta: Kriss Kellermeier, nursing.

Odessa: Michael Rooks, physics.

Pipe Creek: Cora Bishoppetty, teacher education.

Seminole: Cassandra Schultz, English.

Sweetwater: Eliza Delgado, music.

Wall: Emily Niehues, nursing.

Hanoi, Vietnam: Thi Van Khanh Nguyen, communication.

Also, ASU Alpha Chi members Angela Chen of Helotes, Ian Stark of Comanche, Jessica Hettick of Knox City and Jeongock Park of Seoul, South Korea, have been chosen to represent ASU at the Alpha Chi National Convention April 5-8 in Portland, Oregon.

Additional faculty advisors are Dr. June Smith for the College of Arts and Humanities, Dr. Sandra Pate for the College of Business, Dr. Charlene Bustos for the College of Education, and Paul Osmanski for the Archer College of Health and Human Services. Havlak is also secretary-treasurer for Region I and a member of the Alpha Chi National Council.

Follow us on Facebook!