Jim Sánchez/ Conexión San Ángelo

SAN ANGELO – After the canvassing returns and declaration results of the General and Special Elections from May 6th were officially in the books, Municipal Court Judge, Allen Gilbert, administered the oath of office to San Angelo City Council’s first woman, Brenda Gunter, as the new mayor and three new Single Member District council persons at Tuesday’s Council meeting.

Tommy Hiebert is the new SMD 1 Councilman; Hiebert is finishing out former Councilman, Bill Richardson's term.

Tom Thompson is the new SMD 2 Councilman; Marty Self, chose not to run for re-election.

Lucy Gonzales won re-election and will represent SMD 4.

Brenda Gunter, is officially sworn-in this morning as the City Council's new Mayor of San Angelo.

Prior to Mayor Gunter being sworn-in, the other three new SMD council people were: Tommy Hiebert, representing SMD 1; Tom Thompson, SMD 2; and Lucy Gonzales, who won re-election represented SMD 4.

The SMD 6 council seat is on hold as a runoff election will be held for that position on July 8 between candidates, Steve Hampton and Billie Dewitt. Council member, Charlotte Farmer currently occupies the seat.

Mayor Dwain Morrison’s last official duty was to give an award to outgoing SMD 2 Councilman, Marty Self, “in grateful recognition for his dedicated service to the City of San Angelo,” read Mayor Morrison from the plaque.

Mayor Pro-Tempore, Charlotte Farmer, followed up by presenting outgoing Mayor, Morrison with his award.

“I can honestly say that there are very few individuals who care for this City with the passion and the honesty that this man has for his City.” “You won’t be forgotten and you will be missed,” concluded Farmer.

Dwain Morrison and wife, Vicki, one last time together as Mayor of San Angelo. 

Mayor Morrison served on the council from 2003-2017 and was a two-term mayor. Giddyup!

Follow us on Facebook!