Jim Sánchez/ Conexión San Ángelo

SAN ANGELO – Seven San Angelo City Council members were put on a really short notice to make a decision at Tuesday morning ‘s regular City Council meeting on adopting a resolution, nominating five candidates to serve on the Board of Directors of the Tom Green County Appraisal District for the 2018-2019 term. The presentation was made by City Clerk Bryan Kendrick.

Kendrick outlined for the Council that Tuesday’s process was simply about nominating five candidates, not voting on them at this time. 

“What we essentially need today is for you all to nominate five names or five different motions, however you want to do it,” he said. Kendrick suggested that it would be better if it was all done in one motion because then the resolution could be adopted with those five names.

Kendrick interjected before the vote was to be taken that State Law requires five names were required for nomination, not two. “I need a motion with five names,” he said. 

Currently the five TGCAD Board of Directors is comprised of: John Begnaud John Conn Russell DeVore Louis Gomez and Bob Reeves.

Kendrick, in an email, released the following statement.

 “All taxing entities have the right to nominate members for the board. If Nowlin and Pool are the only new names then, as I understand the process, there will be seven names on the ballot when the taxing entities allocate their votes. Chapter 6 of the Property Tax Code provides the following procedure for the election process: Prior to December 15th, 2017, the governing body of each taxing unite may cast all its votes for one candidate of may distribute the votes among any numbers of the five candidates. There is no provision for write-in candidates,” 

Toward the end of the meeting, Mayor Brenda Gunter nominated Kandi Pool, while Council Member, Lane Carter, recommended David Nowlin. So the other three nominees, besides Nowlin and Pool are John Begnaud John Conn and Louis Gomez for a total of five.

At the conclusion, the City Council voted unanimously 7-0 for those five candidates.

Follow us on Facebook!