Jim Sánchez/ Conexión San Ángelo

SAN ANGELO – From the 25 San Angelo ISD elementary, secondary teachers who were honored at Wednesday’s Teacher of the Year ceremony, two of them-- Macy Smithson and Bonnie Smith were announced as the 2018 districtwide Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year. The annual TOY awards ceremony took place at Johnson Street Church of Christ, 2200 Johnson Ave.

At the May 11, end-of-school year event, master of ceremonies, SAISD Director of Communications, Derrick Jackson, announced the names of the 25 teachers whose plaque read “For demonstrating outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching the children of San Angelo,” signed by Superintendent, Dr. Carl Dethloff.

SAISD Superintendent, Dr. Carl Dethloff and Macy Smithson, districtwide Elementary Teacher of the Year.

Macy Smithson, Elementary TOY, and in her ninth year, is a fifth-grade science teacher at Fort Concho Elementary. 
“I talk to students about perseverance and that if they fail at something they are not a failure, you just get another attempt at something else.” 

left-to-right: SAISD Superintendent, Dr. Carl Dethloff, Bonnie Smith, districtwide Secondary Teacher of the Year, and SAISD, Executive Director, Farrah Gomez.

Smith, the Secondary TOY, and currently at Carver Learning Center has taught 26 years in the school district. Smith was asked what legacy did she want to leave behind when she finishes her career? “That I made a difference in multiple kids’ lives.”

SAISD Campus Teachers of the Year include:

Jill Lovett, Alta Loma Elementary

Chelsea Smith, Austin Elementary

Megan Miser, Belaire Elementary

Bethany Schmickle, Bonham Elementary

Holly Hartsfield, Bowie Elementary

Devin Hagan, Bradford Elementary

Cathy Tanguma, Crockett Elementary

Lindsey Anderson, Fannin Elementary

Macy Smithson, Fort Concho Elementary

Victoria Guiterrez, Glenmore Elementary

Patrice Gibson, Goliad Elementary

Lisa Olivas-Chaumont, Holiman Elementary

Michelle Weber, Lamar Elementary

Taylor Gohlke, McGill Elementary

Kendra Cain, Reagan Elementary

Kalei Bailey, San Jacinto Elementary

Trish Meads, Santa Rita Elementary

Angela Pidgeon, Central High School

Sherrie Ventura, Central Freshman 

Georgia Edwards, Lake View High School

Blake Bien, Glenn Middle School

Susan Underwood, Lee Middle School

Amy Lewallen, Lincoln Middle School

Bonnie Smith, Carver Learning Center

William Lightfoot, Sam Houston

Follow us on Facebook!