Jim Sánchez/ Conexión San Ángelo

SAN ANGELO – Senator Charles Perry, District 28, the San Angelo Chamber of Commerce’ guest speaker, when he addressed the Leadership San Angelo Class of 2017-18, summarized his speech on leadership to the graduates and attendees in one word, humility” “You cannot serve others well if you are not humble.”

The 2018 Leadership Class Luncheon was held Tuesday, June 12 during the lunch hour at the Bentwood Country Club.

Prior to his positive remarks on what makes a great leader, Sen. Perry also described the negative traits of someone who is not a leader. P stands for position, power, prestige. R stands for Rank. I means it’s all about me. The letter D stands for Destruction is imminent. And E stands for embolden which does not bode well for being a leader. The word spelled out which causes a person’s downfall is PRIDE.

The positive role-model characteristics that Sen. Perry closed with, which he believes makes for a great leader is confidence, encourager, honest, risk taker, listener, emphatic, compassionate, servant’s heart and be content with your role. All these in totality comprise that word he used to drive home the point—humility.

Afterward Junior League Forum, President Brook Dickison, presented to the 31 individuals their certificates. 

The following graduates in order of presented certificates were: Susanna Aguirre, Kara Barner, Daniel Calhoun, Courtney Carson, Angela Casavant, Donna Casey  Jimmy Cisneros, Evan Cogansparger, Chad Cook, Amanda Cruz, Teresa Delgado, Justin DeLoach, Jessica Denis, Chris Evatt, Lindsey Harmon, Alexandrea Kenny, Heather Kumpe, Julie Meyer, James Pickens, Kathy Powell, Maribel Rios, Tracy Simmons, Ty Sisco, Andrea Souflee, Nathaniel Southard, Allison Strube, Neil Townley, Debbie Velasquez, Blake Wilson, Kit Wyatt and Massey Balentine.

Leadership San Angelo is designed to help develop future leadership for our City by providing intensive training in areas strategic to the city's well-being.

LSA concluded the ceremonies with four annual awards to the following:

• Bob Diebitsch Outstanding Alumnus Civic Leader of the Year — Matt Lewis 

• LSA Business of the Year —  Live Designs and Chrys Forbes; presenting the award is Kelly Farmer.

• LSA Alumni of the Year —  Jennifer Seay Boyd. Left-to-right: Brook Dickison, President JLF, Kelly Farmer, Sen. Perry and Boyd.

• LSA Presidents Award — Brook Dickison. Award presented by Kelly Farmer.

Kathy Piccolo, former Chamber Membership Director received a crystal glass from SA Chamber President, Bruce Partain, at Tuesday's Chamber of Commerce Leadership Class 2018 graduation ceremonies. 

Also, on hand to receive an award prior to Perry’s speech was longtime SA Chamber member, Katy Picoolo for her longtime years of service, Chamber President, Bruce Partain, gifted Piccolo a beautiful crystal glass that outlined her 19 years to the Chamber as Membership Director.